Extracurriculars

G. Stanley Hall ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Marquardt School District 15 understands that learning and engagement is necessary both inside and outside the classroom. Below are a list of extracurricular clubs and activities that G. Stanley Hall offers to students.

 

BAND AND ORCHESTRA

Students in 4th and 5th grade have the opportunity to learn to play an instrument of their choice and participate in concerts with other students as members of the band or orchestra.

SPONSORs

Jennifer Baker: jbaker@d15.us
Ian Nevins: inevens@d15.us
Ben Dahlke: bdahlke@d15.us

 
9.JPG

BATTLE OF THE BOOKS

Students team up to read and study a selection of books from the current Bluestem Award nomination list in preparation for three levels of competitions (building, district, and crosstown). Battle of the Books helps the students build teamwork and close reading skills.

SPONSOR

Vicki Bielinksi: vbielinski@d15.us

 
Hall Photo 2.JPG

CHORUS

The Hall Husky Chorus rehearses two times a week during mid day P.E. time. These dedicated 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders are learning how to be better singers through warming up, using good posture, and vocal coaching. They are excited about the upcoming performances we have for this year!

SPONSOR

Lesley Pretkelis: lpretkelis@d15.us 

 

D.A.R.E.

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) is a program to help 5th grade students make good choices. Run by the school resource officer and supported by the school social worker, D.A.R.E. addresses internet safety, bullying, and other high risk situations.

SPONSOR

Michelle Cahill: michelle_cahill@glendaleheights.org
Linda Bryant-Klaft: lbryant-klaft@d15.us

 
Intramurals.jpg

INTRAMURALS

All girls and boys in grades 4th and 5th can participate in a non-competitive environment around different sport-like activities. Intramurals are held two days a week before school (days depend on grade level) and are supervised by the physical education teacher. 

Intramurals Permission Form and Schedule

SPONSOR

Justin Kueking: jkueking@d15.us

 

STUDENT COUNCIL

The Hall Student Council is made up of 4th and 5th graders who are elected by their classmates. The Student Council members are leaders in our school and contribute in many ways, including planning school activities and fundraisers.

SPONSORs

Carissa Marino: cmarino@d15.us
Linda Bryant-Klaft: lbryant-klaft@d15.us

 
DSC00770.JPG

YOUNG AUTHORS

The Young Authors contest brings out the writer in every student! Students are encouraged to write and/or illustrate books alone or with a partner. Winners are selected by grade level, school, and genre to attend a special celebration and to get published in the school Young Authors book, which is housed in the Hall library.

SPONSORs

Carla Betrand: cbertrand@d15.us
Jenna Farris: jfarris@d15.us